Skip to Main Navigation

Past Schedule 2007

For important information about shoes and other stuff, please refer to our Nightly Details page.

January 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Tue Jan 2 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran Peavine Creek (core band*) -Doug Olsen (guitar), John Anderson (banjo), Ann Whitley (fiddle), Cindy Olsen (bass), Albert Smith (fiddle) Open calling $3
Fri Jan 5 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Clifton Road String Band -Jan Smith (fiddle), Andy Smith (guitar), John Anderson (banjo/harmonica), PeteSenkowski (bass) Scott Russell $7
Fri Jan 12 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Morrison Brothers Doug Singleton $7
Sat - Sun Jan 13-14   Dance Rhapsody
Weekend
:

What the Hey MLK! 2007
Decatur Recreation Center Morrison Brothers & Contrazz Sat, Jan 13:     7:30 pm Morrison Brothers concert     8:00 - 11:30: contra to Morrison Brothers and Seth Sun, Jan 14:     10am - 1pm: contra toContrazz and Janet     2:30-5:30: contra to Morrison Brothers and Janet     7:30:Contrazz concert     8:00-11:30: contra toContrazz and Seth Seth Tepfer
      and
Janet Shepherd
$40
Tue Jan 16 6:30 Pot luck Messiah Lutheran Pre-dance pot luck dinner!    
    7:30 Contra   Trinity (core band*)
Hunt Smith (fiddle), Mike Robinson (fiddle), Gretchen Smith (piano)
Open calling $3
Fri Jan 19 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Holy Coyote
Laurie Fisher (fiddle), Dave Marcus (concertina), KarenGaughan (piano), Larry Enlow (percussion)
Adina Gordon $7
Sun Jan 21 11:30am – 1:30pm Steering CommitteeMtg Home of... Brian Baker All dancers are encouraged to attend!!! FREE
Fri Jan 26 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Tune Dogs
Jan Smith (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), John Kelley (banjo), PeteSenkowski (bass)
Dennis Edmiston $7
Tue Jan 30 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran Over the River String Band
Anne Lawing (guitar), Jean Griffin (bass), Billy Griffin (banjo) and HenryRolka (fiddle)
Open calling $3
February 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Feb 2 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Cattywampas
Tim Cape (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), Pete Senkowski (bass), with special guest Steve Rosen (mandolin) from the Volo Bogtrotters
Rob Harper $7
Fri Feb 9 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Wild Hydrangea
Larry Enlow (drums), Tomas Valenti (guitar, bouzouki, mandolin), Laurie Fisher (fiddle)
Cis Hinkle $7
Tue Feb 13 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran TBA Open calling $3
Fri Feb 16 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Night Watch
(Naomi Morse (fiddle), Elvie Miller (piano and accordion), Owen Morrison (guitar))
Shawn Brenneman $7
Fri Feb 23 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Buddy O’Reilly Band
John Maschinot (flute, uilleann pipes, pennywhistle), Kurt Pateck (fiddle, banjo), Tomas Valenti (guitar, bouzouki, mandolin), Ray Campagnoli (bodhran, pennywhistle)
Scott Russell $7
Sun Feb 25 7-9pm Steering CommitteeMtg Home of... TBA All dancers are encouraged to attend!!! FREE
Tue Feb 27 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran TBA Band (core band*) Open calling $3
March 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Mar 2 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Tim Cape & Friends
Tim Cape (fiddle), others
Janet Shepherd $7
Fri Mar 9 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Fetchin’ Cat
Tim Higgins (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), Joe Stratton (mandolin)
Rob Harper $7
Tue Mar 13 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran Smokin’ Coyote (core band*)
Dave Marcus (concertina, hammered dulcimer), Sandi Goldring (piano).   Tuesday night premiere of this duo playing mostly-new tunes from the New England contra repertoire – expect anything but old time tonight.
Open calling $3
Fri Mar 16 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Peavine Creek
Doug Olsen (guitar), John Anderson (banjo), Ann Whitley (fiddle), Cindy Olsen (bass), Albert Smith (fiddle)
Dennis Edmiston $7
Fri Mar 23 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Great Bear Trio
Andrew and Noah VanNorstrand (fiddles) and Kim VanNorstrand (piano) frequently augmented by mandolins, guitars, banjo and an assortment of percussion including the African djembe and the Australian didgeridoo. Draw heavily on Celtic and Appalachian fiddling traditions for the melodies but with plenty of room for improvisation and an occasional alt-rock or world beat groove creeping into the rhythm section.
Cis Hinkle $7
Sun Mar 25 7-9pm Steering Committee Meeting Home of… David Digby All dancers are encouraged to attend!! Free
Tue Mar 27 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran Peavine Creek (core band*)
Doug Olsen (guitar), John Anderson (banjo), Ann Whitley (fiddle), Cindy Olsen (bass), Albert Smith (fiddle)
Open calling $3
Fri Mar 30 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Smoke & Mirrors
new lineup! new sound!
Sandi Goldring (piano), Shelley Rhodes (fiddle)
Seth Tepfer $7
April 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Apr 6 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist The Avant Gardeners
Laura Light (fiddle and the occasional vocal), George Paul (piano and accordion) with Jimmy Gagnon (drums, flute and didgeridoo) and special guest Dave Marcus (concertina)
Beth Molaro $7
Tue Apr 10 6:30 Potluck Dinner Messiah Lutheran      
Tue Apr 10 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran Grits & Jowls (core band*)
Susie Gregg, Alan Gordan & Daryl Ott
Open calling $3
Fri Apr 13 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Peavine Creek
Doug Olsen (guitar), John Anderson (banjo), Ann Whitley (fiddle), Cindy Olsen (bass)
Doug Singleton $7
Fri Apr 20 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Cattywampas
Tim Cape (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Cis Hinkle $7
Sun Apr 22 4-6pm CCD Monthly Business Meeting At the home of.... Ginger Lyon All dancers are encouraged to attend Free
Tue Apr 24 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran The Oatcakes & Big Bill McClain (core band*)
Bill McClain (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), Twobie N. Amed Later (piano).
Open calling $3
Fri Apr 27 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Tim Cape & Friends
Tim Cape (fiddle), Friends (other)
Scott Russell $7
May 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri - Sun May 4-6   Dance Rhapsody
Weekend
:
What the Hey May? 2007
Morningside Baptist Elftones and Lift Ticket Becky Hill, Seth Tepfer, Janet Shepherd TBA
Tue May 8 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran TBA (core band*) Open calling $3
Fri May 11 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Crosstown Traffic
Brian Donahue (mandolin), Bill Porter (flute), Mike Robinson (fiddle), Brian Baker (guitar)
Rob Harper $7
Fri May 18 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Genticorum (Cancelled)
Smoke and Mirrors
Cis Hinkle $7
Mon May 21 7pm - 9pm CCD Monthly Business Meeting At the home of...
Angelika Pohl and Stven Carlberg
697 Park Lane, Decatur 30033

(phone 404 315 1230)
All dancers are encouraged to attend! Free
Tue May 22 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran Peavine Creek (core band*)
Doug Olsen (guitar), John Anderson (banjo), Ann Whitley (fiddle), Cindy Olsen (bass) 
Open calling $3
Fri May 25 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Clifton Road String Band
Jan Smith (fiddle), Andy Smith (guitar), John Anderson (banjo/harmonica), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Doug Singleton $7
June 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Jun 1 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Holy Coyote
Laurie Fisher (fiddle), Dave Marcus (concertina), Karen Gaughan (piano), Larry Enlow (percussion)
Seth Tepfer $7
Tue Jun 5 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran The Bitsyland String Band (core band*)
Darryl Ott (guitar), Edwin Hall (mandolin/banjo/guitar), Rachel Friday (bass), Elizabeth Brooks (fiddle)
Open calling $3
Fri Jun 8 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Contra Rebels Scott Russell $7
Fri Jun 15 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Instant Band: Just Add Water
Dave Marcus (concertina); Sandy Goldring (piano)
Janet Shepherd $7
Tue Jun 19 7:30 Contra Messiah Lutheran Crosstown Traffic: (core band*)
Brian Donahue (mandolin), Bill Porter (flute), Mike Robinson (fiddle), Brian Baker (guitar)
Open calling $3
Fri Jun 22 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Tune Dogs
Jan Smith (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), John Kelley (banjo), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Dennis Edmiston $7
Fri Jun 29 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Euphor (U4)
Matt Turino (fiddle), Tom Turino (banjo/fiddle), Michael Shapiro (guitar), Michael Valliant (bass)
Adina Gordon $7
July 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Jul 6 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Tune Dogs
Jan Smith (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), John Kelley (banjo), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Doug Singleton $7
Fri Jul 13 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Smoke & Mirrors
Sandi Goldring (piano), Shelley Rhodes (fiddle)
Barb Kirchner $7
Fri Jul 20 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Clifton Road String Band
Jan Smith (fiddle), Andy Smith (guitar), John Anderson (banjo/harmonica), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Cis Hinkle $7
Fri Jul 27 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Happy Enchiladas
Tomas Valenti (guitar, fiddle, banjo, mandolin, dobro, etc...), Ron Hipp (guitar, banjo, mandolin), Rachel Friday (bass), Tara Vogt (fiddle, guitar), Another fiddler TBN
Janet Shepherd $7
August 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Aug 3 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist The Oatcakes
Bill McClain (fiddle), Tomas Valenti (piano), Scott Russell (guitar)
Rob Harper $7
Fri Aug 10 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Peavine Creek
Doug Olsen (guitar), John Anderson (banjo), Ann Whitley (fiddle), Cindy Olsen (bass)
Scott Russell $7
Fri Aug 17 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Crosstown Traffic
Brian Donahue (mandolin), Bill Porter (flute), Mike Robinson (fiddle), Brian Baker (guitar)
Vickie Herndon (Chattanooga) $7
Fri Aug 24 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Centerline Syndrome
Ann Whitley (fiddle), Larry Enlow (mando, electric guitar, percussion), Karen Gaughin (piano)
Cis Hinkle $7
Fri Aug 31 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Curious George
Laura Legnik (fiddle), Paul Moore (piano)
Seth Tepfer $7
September 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Sep 7 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist The Capetians
Tim Cape (fiddle), Julie Austin (swing guitar), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Rob Harper $7
Fri Sep 14 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Ed & Elsie
Ed Baggott (fiddle), Elsie Peterson (piano)
Susan Davis $7
Fri Sep 21 8pm English Country Dance Weekend Morningside Baptist English Country Dance    
Fri Sep 28 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Cattywampas
Tim Cape (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Cis Hinkle $7
Sat Sep 29 6pm-11pm Picnic Lake Clare Community Land Trust CCD Annual Picnic Free
October 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Tues Oct 2 7:30pm Contra Messiah Lutheran Grits & Jowls (core band*) Open calling $3
Fri Oct 5 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Peavine Creek
Doug Olsen (guitar), John Anderson (banjo), Ann Whitley (fiddle), Cindy Olsen (bass)
Janet Shepherd $7
Tues Oct 9 7-9pm Steering Committee   Monthly CCD Business Meeting -- All dancers are encouraged to attend
Location: Angelika Pohl's house. 697 Park Lane, Decatur, 30033.
  Free
Fri Oct 12 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Tune Dogs
Jan Smith (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), John Kelley (banjo), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Rob Harper $7
Tues Oct 16 7:30pm Contra Messiah Lutheran TBA Open calling $3
Fri Oct 19 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Crosstown Traffic
Brian Donahue (mandolin), Bill Porter (flute), Mike Robinson (fiddle), Brian Baker (guitar)
Cis Hinkle $7
Fri Oct 26 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Steam Shovel
David White (fiddle), Roger Gold (guitar)
Beth Molaro $7
Tues Oct 30 7:30pm Contra Messiah Lutheran Crosstown Traffic
NOTE: Seth will be playtesting some cool new dances prior to the Nov. Dance Weekend. Come be a part of the sneak preview! Hallowe'en get-up is encouraged.
Quarterly pot-luck at 6:30
Seth Tepfer and open calling $3
November 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Fri Nov 2 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist West Coast Gardeners
Dave Wiesler (guitar), George Paul (piano), Laura Light (fiddle), and guest star Dave Bartley (mando, guitar, cittern) of the Left Coast's red-hot contra band KGB
Cis Hinkle $7
Fri-Sun Nov 9-11   Atlanta Dance Weekend Decatur Rec Center Festival
Hot Feet, Moving Violations, Fine Companions, Atlanta Swamp Opera
Seth Tepfer, Nils Fredland , Beth Molaro $60
Tues Nov 13 7:30pm Contra Messiah Lutheran Always Something (core band*) Open calling $3
Fri Nov 16 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist The Capetians
Tim Cape (fiddle), Julie Austin (swing guitar)
Doug Singleton $7
Fri Nov 23 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Clifton Road
Jan Smith (fiddle), Andy Smith (guitar), John Anderson (banjo/harmonica), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Scott Russell $7
Tues Nov 27 7:30pm Contra Messiah Lutheran Always Something (core band*) Open calling $3
Fri Nov 30 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Red Mountain White Trash
Jim Cauthen (fiddle), Joyce Cauthen (guitar) Phil Foster (mandolin), Jamie Finley (harmonica and banjo uke), Bill Martin (autoharp), Nancy Jackson (bass)
Cis Hinkle $7
Decmber 2007
Day Date Time Event Location Band Caller Cost
Tues Dec 4 7-9pm Steering Committee Seth Tepfer & Pam Eidson's house. 125 Russell St. in Oakhurst Monthly CCD Business Meeting -- All dancers are encouraged to attend & vote on next year's Festival band.
NOTE: Seth & Pam's house address does not map accurately on mapquest et. al. Directions to their house will be sent out to the listserv on Monday, November 26. If you aren't on the listserv, email Pam at gmail (use pam.eidson) for directions.
  Free
Fri Dec 7 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Holy Coyote
Larry Enlow (percussion), Dave Marcus (concertina), Laurie Fisher (fiddle), Karen Gaughan (piano)
Dennis Edmiston $7
Tues Dec 11 7:30pm Contra Messiah Lutheran The Oatcakes
Bill McClain (fiddle), Tomas Valenti (piano), Scott Russell (guitar)
Open calling $3
Fri Dec 14 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Cattywampas
Tim Cape (fiddle), Scott Russell (guitar), Pete Senkowski (bass)
Seth Tepfer $7
Fri Dec 21 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist Instant Band, Just Add Water
Sandi Goldring (piano), Dave Marcus (concertina)
Janet Shepard $7
Fri Dec 28 8pm Contra Morningside Baptist TNT
Tim Cape (fiddle), Tina Liza Jones (guitar and banjo)
Rob Harper $7
Mon Dec 31 8pm-1am New Year's Eve dance Morningside Baptist Anna's Bananas
Andre Raffield, "The Master of all Shiznaks" (fiddle and bass); Taylor Raffield, "Neptune's Godson" (fiddle); Paul Saylor "The Jolly Ox" (percussion and vocals); Bart Saylor "The Big Banana" (guitar, mandolin, and crowd control).
Robbin Schaffer Marcus
&
Keith Cornett Eustis
$10